Groups

Since Buddy doesn't require advanced DevOps knowledge, it can be used by developers and non-technical users alike. Groups let you easily divide your team for easier identification: front-end, back-end, QA, support, marketing, tech writers, and so on.

Groups also simplify user management. For example, instead of adding each user individually to the project, you can select their group and add everybody at once.

Creating groups

  1. Go to the Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click the People tab.
  2. Click Create a new group in the right column.
  3. Choose a telling name for the group and type the names or emails of the people that you want to add.
  4. Click the button to confirm.

Adding a group

Only the workspace owner and administrators can create new groups.

Group members

Adding members

  1. Go to the Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click the People tab.
  2. Click the user that you want to add to the group.
  3. Click the Groups dropdown in the right column and select the target group.

Adding a member to a group

  • Users can belong to multiple groups at once.
  • Users can invite new members to the groups to which they belong regardless of their permissions.

Removing members

  1. Go to the Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click the People tab.
  2. Click the name of the group with the desired user and switch to the Members tab.
  3. Click Remove from group by the desired user.

Removing a member from a group

Removing a member from the group will not remove them from the projects to which they belong.

Group profile

Clicking the name of the group in Buddy will bring up its details:

Group details

The view has four tabs:

  • Activity – displays all actions of the group members in the workspace
  • Members – lets you add and remove people from the group
  • Access logs – the security log of group activity, including dates of workspace access, including the name, IP, and date
  • Projects – displays all projects to which at least one of the group members belongs. You can add the remaining group users to a project with pre-selected permissions or remove all users from a group at once

Group members can add new users to the group regardless of their permissions.

Groups & projects

The Projects tab on the group's view allows you to add and remove group members from projects and manage their permissions.

Single-project assignment

Each project displays the number of group members currently assigned to it. Clicking the number lets you add the remaining members with the selected permission set, or remove the entire group from the project:

Project access management

Bulk assignment

Buddy also lets you perform bulk assignments. The option is available below the tabs:

Bulk assignment location

Bulk updates let you do the following things:

  1. Add remaining group members to projects with at least one group members already assigned
  2. Add group members to every project to which they are not currently assigned
  3. Change the role of group members in all currently assigned projects
  4. Remove all group members from all projects

Bulk update options

Deleting groups

  1. Click the name of the group that you want to remove to open its profile.
  2. Click Delete in the right column and confirm the action.

Removing a group

Only the workspace owner and administrators can delete groups.

Deleting a group will not remove its members from the projects to which they belong.