Members

Adding members

To collaborate with a teammate you need to invite them to the workspace and add them to the selected project. The exceptions are admins and the workspace owner who have access to all projects in the workspace.

The best idea is to invite new users directly from the project. This way they will already have access to it upon logging in.

Workspace

  1. Go to the Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click the People tab.
  2. Click Invite new people to the right.
  3. Enter the mail addresses of your teammates and click the button to send invitations.

Inviting new members

By default, all members of the workspace can invite new users. You can restrict that in the Settings tab of the workspace Preferences.

The invitees should receive this email:

Workspace invitation email

Project

  1. Open to the desired project and go to Project options.
  2. Switch to the Team tab and enter the workspace name email address of the teammate that you want to invite.

Adding new user to project

By default, any member of the project can add new members.

If you cannot see the invitation input, it means that adding new members has been restricted. In this case, please contact your admin or the workspace owner.

Removing members

You need to be an admin or the workspace owner to remove users from workspace or projects.

Workspace

  1. Go to the Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click the People tab.
  2. Click the user that you want to remove.
  3. Click Delete this user in the right column and confirm the action.

Removing user from workspace

Removing a user from workspace will remove him from all projects they belonged to. However, their activity (commits, etc.) will still be visible in the history of the workspace. Workspace owners cannot be removed from the workspace by other admins.

Project

  1. Open to the desired project and go to Project options
  2. Switch to the Team tab and open the Permission dropdown by the user that you want to remove
  3. Click Remove from this project.

Only the account's owner or members with admin permissions can remove other users from the project.

Removing user from project

Assigning projects

Checking assigned projects

  1. Go to the Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click the People tab.
  2. Click the user that you want to check and switch to the Projects tab.

User projects tab

Users without admin permissions will only see projects co-shared with the user (marked in black). Workspace admins will see all projects to which the users belongs, together with the assigned permission level.

Auto-assign to new projects

You can automatically assign the selected user to all newly created projects:

  1. Go to the Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click the People tab.
  2. Click the user that you want to auto-assign and switch to the Projects tab.
  3. Tick the option Automatic access to all newly created projects.

Auto-assign option

This option is only available for administrators and workspace owner.

Users automatically added to newly created projects are assigned Developer permissions by default.