Permissions

Permission roles

Permissions define what users can and cannot do in the project. There are two default permission roles in Buddy:

  • Developer – user can view, add, edit and remove all elements in the project
  • Read-only – users can view and comment on all elements in the project, but cannot add new or edit and remove existing ones

Permissions are assigned per-project, meaning a user can have different permissions across several projects. Admins and the workspace owner always have full access to all parts of the service. Users automatically added to new projects are assigned Developer permissions by default.

Changing permissions

To change permissions in the project for the defined user:

  1. Go to the chosen project and enter its Options
  2. In the Team tab, use the dropdown on the right next to the chosen member to change their permission in this project.

Changing permissions

Creating custom permission sets

Custom permissions allow for more scrupulous control over your workspace. For example, you can hide pipelines and leave read-only access for your repository if you want to show your code to the client.

  1. Go to Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click Workspace Preferences at top navi-bar
  2. Select Permissions and click Create a new permission
  3. Provide name, description (optional) and define scopes of access
  4. Click Save changes to confirm and add the new permissions to the list.

Changing permissions

Scopes of access in custom permissions

Source permissions define how much control a user will get in the repository:

  • Read-only – user can browse the repository and comment on commits
  • Read & write – user can view, add, edit and remove all elements in the repository and comment on commits

If you want to restrict write permissions to a specific branch you can use push permissions.

Pipeline permissions define how much control a user can get over pipelines (deployments):

  • Denied – user has no access to the Pipelines tab
  • View-only – user can view and comment on pipelines
  • Run-only – user can run pipelines but cannot add, edit or remove them
  • Manage – user has full R/W control over pipelines

You can also hide a pipeline from specific users and groups using Visibility settings at the pipeline view.

Adding project rectrictions

Everyone can add new projects to the workspace by default. You can, however, restrict this setting to the account owner and admins. Here’s how:

  1. Go to Dashboard (https://app.buddy.works/DOMAIN) and click Workspace Preferences at top navi-bar
  2. Select Settings tab and check the Enable project restricions option
  3. Check Only administrator can add projects. The setting will be saved after clicking Submit button.

Changing permissions