Buddy v2.0: New Source Code view

Buddy v2.0: New Source Code view

February 12, 2021

Dear beloved,
As a part of the redesign process, we have updated the Code tab to match the new style and make some space for new features. Depending whether you use an external Git provider or host code on Buddy, the layout and options available are different. Let's start with some basics, so that you'll better understand the differences between each.

Synchronized projects vs Buddy hosting

Synchronized projects refer to projects with repositories hosted on third-party services like GitHub, Bitbucket, or GitLab, and custom repositories connected by manually adding a webhook. In Buddy, you can browse the activity in your synced projects, view commits history, quick-jump to associated executions, compare branches, commits, and tags, and check who altered the file and when.

Browsing repository of synchronized projects is performed in read-only mode.

Although Buddy requires write permissions to add web hooks and send commit statuses, it is not allowed to modify repository contents.

If you decide to go for Buddy as your code provider, you get exactly the same features listed above with full R/W permissions (which means you can, for example add ). You also get access to the Merges tab (explained further on).

Indicating Git provider

You will know which provider is the project synchronized with from its icon on the project tile:

  • projects hosted on GitHub, Bitbucket, and GitLab have dedicated icons
  • projects hosted on Buddy are marked with the Buddy diamond
  • projects added as custom repositories are marked with the Git icon

Code tab

You can access your source code by going to the project and clicking Code in the left menu:

If your project is integrated with an external provider, the following screen will pop-up:

The most important are the three buttons at the top. Let's start with Browse repository, as it's where the changes are the most visible.

Browse Repository view

Files tab

The Files tab lets you freely navigate through the repository contents (provided you have proper permissions).

When browsing a synced project, you will notice a message at the top This project is synchronized with INTEGRATION_OWNER/PROJECT_NAME. If there is no such message there, it means that the project has been moved to Buddy Git hosting. Please mind that once moved to Buddy, it's not possible to switch the project back to an external provider.

You can use the dropdown menu to switch the branch and navigate to the selected tag or commit:

Commits tab

Switching to the Commits tab will produce the list of commits pushed to the repository:

Click on a commit to bring up its details:

If a commit is marked as red, it means that the pipeline executed for this revision has failed.

Clicking the file name will show its contents. You can see that the editor window here is labeled as read-only, which means the repository is hosted on a 3rd-party service (or, if the project is hosted on Buddy, you don't have permissions to alter source code):

You can change the revision of the viewed file with the dropdown menu at the top.

Last but not least, clicking on the execution in the commit will instantly navigate you to the connected pipeline execution:

Branches tab

The Branches provide a visual representation of the branch structure in the repository:

Clicking the branch will show the the list of events:

Projects hosted on Buddy also feature the Write Access tab. Here you can check and manage the write permissions to the selected branch:

Merges tab

The merges tab is reserved exclusively for projects hosted on Buddy. Here you can merge branches, compare changes, and issue merge requests.

When merging two branches, Buddy will inform you of possible conflicts and the differences between the base and the head:

You can click the numbers in the Mergeability section for more details:

Repository connection details

The second important switch provides basic information on who added the project to Buddy, when was the last time the repository was updated, and lets you check the details of the web hooks received from the provider:

Clicking Update will let you select a new Git provider, or update the details of the integration used to synchronize with the project:

That's it! Hope you'll like our new Source!

Please mind that during the transition not everything will be perfect. We have to ask you for a little bit of patience until the new version has fully arrived. Also, not all changes are final. Looking forward to your feedback so we can make Buddy the best ever!

Share

About the Author
Alexander Kus

Alexander Kus

Customer Success Manager
A story-teller and conversation-lover, Alexander decided to invest his skills to help his friends at Buddy transform the cold language of patch notes into exciting narratives. Also: an avid gamer, hip-hop DJ, Liverpool FC fan, absentminded husband, and the father of two.

Buddy Makes Developers Happier

You use lots of tools to get web & app development done. Buddy creates more time in your day by helping you automate those tools.

Sign up for free with