11 July 2019

New feature: Change user in build actions

New feature: Change user in build actions

Docker flows through the veins of Buddy. It is the fuel that makes our builds run so smooth and simple:

  • First, it launches an isolated container.
  • Second, it downloads dependencies and caches them in the pipeline’s filesystem mounted to the container.
  • Third, it runs build commands on repository files.
  • Fourth, it exports the artifacts to the filesystem nad kills the container.

By default, Docker containers are run with the user defined in the image. However, some of you were requesting an option to change the user – and this is what we are delivering this week.

Configuring Docker user

To run build commands as a different user than the one defined as default in the Docker image, switch to the Environment tab and enter name in the User input.

NOTE: This setting is fully optional. Leaving the field blank will run the commands as the default user.

Setting up build user
Setting up build user

How it works

Once the new user has been defined, the container is run with ROOT privileges. Next, we change the permissisons of the files mounted in the pipeline’s filesystem, so that the user is allowed to modify them. The last step is running the build commands with the new user.

Requests & Feedback

Buddy is 100% customer driven. If there’s a feature or integration you miss, let us know on the live chat or directly at support@buddy.works.