• Blog
  • January update to workspace permissions ๐Ÿ”
January update to workspace permissions ๐Ÿ”

December 21, 2022

January update to workspace permissions ๐Ÿ”

Dear Buddy users, On January 10, 2023, we are going to deploy permissions for pipelines. The release will change the way how the permission tiers interact with each other.

What you need to know

In Buddy, permissions are defined in roles and work like this:

  1. Workspace members can be assigned to a project individually or via a group.
  2. The scope of access results from the highest role assigned to the user combined with the highest role of the group to which they belong.

    For example, if the user has the 'Viewer' (R/O) role in the project, but is added to a group with the 'Developer' (R/W) role, the overall level of access in that project will be 'Developer'.

From January 10, 2023, the mechanism will change as follows:

  1. Users assigned individually will use the permission defined in their role.
  2. Users not assigned individually will use the highest permission defined in the role of the group to which they belong.

So, if the user is assigned with the 'Viewer' role to the project and belongs to a group with the 'Developer' role, his level of access will be 'Viewer'. The same goes with the upcoming pipeline permissions โ€“ the priority will always be the individual role assigned to the user.

Make sure to update the permissions accordingly after the release to ensure your developers have correct access to the resources in your projects.

Alexander Kus

Alexander Kus

Customer Success Manager

A story-teller and conversation-lover, Alexander decided to invest his skills to help his friends at Buddy transform the cold language of patch notes into exciting narratives. Also: an avid gamer, hip-hop DJ, Liverpool FC fan, absentminded husband, and the father of two.